GRAINS OF SORROW


 

If I had to write a message-

a note within the sand,

to apologize in the future,

for all who raped this land.

 

I would search to find an Ocean

and scrape back all the years,

of human waste and progress

beneath a stream of tears.

 

I would start with “Please Forgive Me”,

I thought I was in need.

Yet all of these possessions,

were simply out of Greed.

 

I never meant to hurt you;

my thoughts of things and fun,

were simply more exciting

than the beauty of our sun.

 

The forest broken and battered,

with decomposing limbs.

A holocaust of nature –

the future’s brightness dims.

 

The land now dry and stark,

lay withered like a corpse.

Stripped of all its beauty,

the light now turns to dark.

 

How can I say “I’m Sorry”,

for killing life within ?

The innocence of nature,

was taken once again.

 

© Angela Trumble 2011 A Literary Artist’s Music All Rights Reserved

17 thoughts on “GRAINS OF SORROW

  1. This is a beautiful and tragic poem. It is haunting in that it reminds us of all the wrongs we have done to Mother Earth, as we secretly ponder if it is really too late to undo them. Greed kills. Less is more. I always joke with friends (although it is no joking matter) and say “Mother Nature got rid of the dinosaurs and she’ll get rid of us in one swift swoop”; like a dog shaking off fleas that have annoyed it far too long. Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

